Continued from T:76368. Tape two of two. The premiere edition (1989) of this annual music awards presentation program which honors Latin music achievements in the United States. The awards, presented by Univisi—n and Billboard Magazine, are chosen based on sales records and votes gathered from the public through Billboard Magazine under the supervision of the Deloitt, Haskins & Sells auditing firm. This year's program, presented live from the James L. Knight Convention Center in Miami, Florida, gives awards in the categories of Pop/Ballad, Tropical, and Regional Mexican, as well as awards to the best producer of the year, best composer of the year, and best crossover artist. Lucy Pereda and Antonio Vodanovic host the program. Presentations and performances in this segment include the following: Ana Gabriel and JosŽ Luis Rodr’guez, announce the award for best song, Regional Mexican, to Los Bukis for "Ahora te vas"; JosŽ Javier Sol’s performs (song unidentified); Rumba Tres performs "Bamboleo" accompanied by the Ballet Flamenco de Rosita Segovia; Angela Carrasco presents the award for best composer to Roberto Livi and Alberto Campoy for "Toco madera"; Ana Gabriel performs "Ay amor"; Roc’o Jurado presents the award for best new artist, Pop/Ballad, to Gipsy Kings (not present); Franco performs "Mar’a"; JosŽ Javier Sol’s presents the award for best group, Pop/Ballad, to Gloria Estefan and Miami Sound Machine; Yuri performs "Hombres al borde de un ataque"; Vikki Carr presents the award for best crossover artist to Gloria Estefan and Miami Sound Machine; Ricardo Montaner and Roberto Livi present the award for best producer to Marco Antonio Sol’s and Los Bukis for "Si me recuerdas"; Braulio performs "Am‡ndote"; JosŽ Luis Rodr’guez "El Puma" performs "Baila mi rumba" accompanied by a large cast of dancers; Luis Enrique and Marco Antonio Sol’s present the award for best female artist, Pop/Ballad, to Isabel Pantoja; Los Bukis perform their award-winning "Ahora te vas"; a promotion by Michelob announces a $50,000 grant to the National Hispanic Fund in honor of the winners of the evening; Vikki Carr presents the award for best male artist, Pop/Ballad, to JosŽ JosŽ (not present); host Pereda presents a performance of "Mis amores" by Roberto Carlos; Gloria Estefan and Emilio Estefan present the award for best album, Pop/Ballad, to Isabel Pantoja (not present) for "Desde Andaluc’a," and the award for best song, Pop/Ballad, to Yuri for "QuŽ te pasa." The two hosts then bid farewell to the audience, concluding the evening. Commercials deleted.

(This program is in Spanish.)

The acquisition and cataloging of this program was made possible by Univisi—n.


  • NETWORK: Univision
  • DATE: May 31, 1989 Wednesdasy 9:35 PM
  • RUNNING TIME: 1:22:00
  • COLOR/B&W: Color
  • CATALOG ID: T:76369
  • GENRE: Award presentations
  • SUBJECT HEADING: International Collection - Spanish - Zone 2
  • SERIES RUN: Univision - TV, 1989


      Omar Marchant........ Executive Producer
    • Jo-Ann Rullan........ Producer
    • Mary Black........ Associate Producer
    • Art Izquierdo........ Director
    • Raul Perez-Liste........ Direction (Misc.)
    • Doris T. Davila........ Direction (Misc.)
    • Del Rio, Yolanda F......... Production (Misc.)
    • Otto Padron........ Production (Misc.)
    • Ileana Quirch........ Production (Misc.)
    • Diana Cosculluela........ Production (Misc.)
    • Jesœs Cabeza........ Production (Misc.)
    • Lucy Pereda........ Host
    • Antonio Vodanovic........ Host
    • Ballet Flamenco de Rosita Segovia........ Dance Company
    • Braulio ........ Performer
    • Roberto Carlos........ Performer
    • Franco........ Performer
    • Ana Gabriel........ Performer
    • Los Bukis (music group)........ Performer
    • Rodriguez, Jose Luis ("El Puma")........ Performer
    • Rumba Tres (music group)........ Performer
    • Jose Javier Solis........ Performer
    • Yuri........ Performer
    • Alberto Campoy
    • Vikki Carr
    • Angela Carrasco
    • Luis Enrique
    • Emilio Estefan
    • Estefan, Gloria and Miami Sound Machine
    • Ana Gabriel
    • Gipsy Kings (music group)
    • Jose Jose
    • Rocio Jurado
    • Roberto Levy
    • Roberto Livi
    • Los Bukis (music group)
    • Ricardo Montaner
    • Isabel Pantoja
    • Jose Luis Rodriguez
    • Jose Javier Solis
    • Marco Antonio Solis
    • Yuri

No one has commented on this page yet.