This program features live coverage of the fourteenth annual Emmy awards for outstanding achievement in television. Those appearing, presenting awards, or introducing clips from old and recent programs include the following: Johhny Carson, Robert F. Lewine, Arlene Francis, Dave Garroway, Edie Adams, David Brinkley, Newton Minow, Pierre Salinger, Sen. Warren Magnuson (D-Wash.), Yves Montand, Lucille Ball, Jimmy Durante, Garry Moore, and Carol Burnett. Winners include: "New York Philharmonic Young People's Concerts with Leonard Bernstein"; "Huntley-Brinkley Report"; Carl Reiner; Nat Hiken; and "The Bob Newhart Show." In the second hour, those appearing, presenting awards, and introducing clips from old and recent programs include the following: Jack Webb, Barbara Stanwyck, Perry Como, Walter Brennan, Cyril Ritchard, Judy Garland, Fred Astaire, Nanette Fabray, Eartha Kitt, Leroy Collins, William O. Douglas, and Lady Bird Johnson. Winners include: Reginald Rose; Franklin Schaffner; Don Knotts; Pamela Brown; E.G. Marshall; Shirley Booth; Peter Falk; Julie Harris; Richard Rodgers; Leonard Bernstein; "The Garry Moore Show"; Carol Burnett; "Victoria Regina"; and Jacqueline Kennedy. Includes commercials.


  • DATE: May 22, 1962 Tuesday 10:00 PM
  • RUNNING TIME: 1:46:18
  • COLOR/B&W: Color
  • CATALOG ID: T82:0448
  • GENRE: Award presentations
  • SUBJECT HEADING: Award presentations
  • SERIES RUN: NBC - TV, 1962


  • Fred Coe … Executive Producer
  • Claude Traverse … Producer
  • Dick Schneider … Director
  • Robert Goldman … Writer
  • Bob Newhart … Host
  • David Brinkley … Host
  • Johnny Carson … Host
  • Edie Adams
  • Fred Astaire
  • Lucille Ball
  • Leonard Bernstein
  • Walter Brennan
  • Carol Burnett
  • Perry Como
  • William O. Douglas
  • Jimmy Durante
  • Nanette Fabray
  • Arlene Francis
  • Judy Garland
  • Dave Garroway
  • Julie Harris
  • Nat Hiken
  • Lady Bird Johnson
  • Jacqueline Kennedy
  • Robert F. Lewine
  • Warren Magnuson
  • Newton Minow
  • Yves Montand
  • Garry Moore
  • Carl Reiner
  • Cyril Ritchard
  • Reginald Rose
  • Pierre Salinger
  • Franklin Schaffner
  • Barbara Stanwyck
  • Jack Webb