One in this series of public affairs programs that examines the ways the government and press react to terrorism. Following an introduction by Fred W. Friendly of Columbia University, Professor Charles R. Nesson of Harvard law school introduces a hypothetical scenario involving an airport bombing in a major American city. Among those members of the distinguished panel commenting on the possible reactions of the government and the press are Kevin Hallinan, member of the FBI/New York Police Terrorist Task Force from 1982 to 1986; Peter Jennings, anchor and senior editor of ABC News; William H. Webster, director of the FBI; James Hoge, president of the New York Daily News; Floyd I. Clarke, assistant director of the FBI; Senator Charles Mathias Jr. of Maryland; Brian M. Jenkins, director of research on terrorism at the Rand corporation; Michael Kennedy, New York attorney; Daryl F. Gates, Los Angeles chief of police; Jack Nelson, Washington bureau chief of the Los Angeles Times; Abraham D. Sofaer, legal adviser at the State Department; Shelby Coffey, deputy associate editor of the Los Angeles Times; Barbara Matusow, senior editor of the Washington Journalism Review; Tom Wicker, political columnist at The New York Times; Robert R. Siegenthaler, vice president of the news practices department at ABC News; and Victoria Toensing, deputy assistant attorney general at the Department of Justice. Friendly concludes the program with an introduction of the following week's program.

Acquisition and cataloging of this program was made possible by a grant from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.


  • DATE: February 12, 1987 Thursday 10:00 PM
  • RUNNING TIME: 0:56:45
  • COLOR/B&W: Color
  • CATALOG ID: T:09817
  • GENRE: Public affairs/Documentaries
  • SUBJECT HEADING: Talk/Interviews
  • SERIES RUN: PBS - TV series, 1987


  • Cynthia McFadden … Executive Producer
  • Betsy Miller … Producer
  • Martha Elliott … Producer
  • Sally Hechinger … Associate Producer
  • David Deutsch … Director
  • Fred W. Friendly … Host
  • Charles R. Nesson … Host
  • Floyd I. Clarke … Panelist
  • Shelby Coffey … Panelist
  • Daryl F. Gates … Panelist
  • Kevin Hallinan … Panelist
  • James Hoge … Panelist
  • Brian M. Jenkins … Panelist
  • Peter Jennings … Panelist
  • Michael Kennedy … Panelist
  • Charles Mathias … Panelist
  • Barbara Matusow … Panelist
  • Jack Nelson … Panelist
  • Robert R. Siegenthaler … Panelist
  • Abraham D. Sofaer … Panelist
  • Victoria Toensing … Panelist
  • William H. Webster … Panelist
  • Tom Wicker … Panelist