Back to Press Releases

MTR Announces 2006 SHE MADE IT Honorees

Thursday, October 12, 2006

New York, NY & Los Angeles, CA—The Museum of Television & Radio today announced this year's honorees for She Made It: Women Creating Television and Radio-the three-year initiative started last year by MTR to celebrate the achievements of creative and business women in the industries of television, radio, and new media. Spanning the generations from early trailblazers to current innovators, She Made It honors writers, directors, producers, journalists, sportscasters, and executives by preserving the legacy of these women who have had an enormous impact on the media.

"She Made It recognizes women whose creative work and leadership has broken new ground in the media industry," said Pat Mitchell, president and chief executive officer of MTR. Last year, before Mitchell took the helm of MTR, she was a She Made It honoree for her work as president of PBS and in recognition of an illustrious career backed by over thirty years in the media. "As part of MTR's mission to celebrate and interpret the role of media in shaping ideas and influencing lives and culture, She Made It honors these selected individuals for their contributions to media and to the positive impact of their work which will be also be made available to the public through MTR's archive and," continues Mitchell.

At the center of She Made It is a unique collection of radio, television, and new media programming created by women. At the end of the three-year project, over 2,000 hours of programming compiled both from MTR's existing collection of over 120,000 programs and from new acquisitions will be available at both MTR locations, in New York and Los Angeles. Public events and an interactive website ( support this landmark collection.

Leading up to the second annual She Made It celebration event on December 5 in Los Angeles, MTR will present public events on both coasts with honorees from this year and last year. Beginning in Los Angeles, She Made It: Fearless Women will celebrate the pioneering women of mass communications with conversations with several outspoken, innovative, and indomitable figures in media.

  • Roseanne: Uncensored, October 16 at 7:00 p.m. (2006 She Made It honoree)
  • John H. Mitchell Seminar: Geraldine Laybourne, October 19 at 7:00 p.m. (2005 She Made It honoree)
  • Designing Women: A Reunion, October 25 at 7:00 p.m.
  • In person: Linda Bloodworth-Thomason (2006 She Made It honoree), Creator/Executive Producer; Delta Burke, "Suzanne Sugarbaker"; Dixie Carter, "Julia Sugarbaker"; Annie Potts, "Mary Jo Shively"; Jean Smart, "Charlene Frazier Stillfield"

In New York, MTR will offer Media as News and Views events with two She Made It honorees from 2005 who define journalism today.

  • Katie Couric: At the Anchor Desk, November 13 at 8:00 p.m.
  • Christiane Amanpour: A View from the Front Lines, November 19 at 6:00 p.m.

A complete list of the MTR 2006 She Made It honorees is below.

The women selected to be honored were chosen by MTR in consultation with a steering committee comprised of some of the most prominent women working in television and radio today and respected scholars in the academic study of women in media. The steering committee is led by Loreen Arbus and Kay Koplovitz, cochairs of the committee and Museum trustees, as well as Geraldine Laybourne, Dawn Ostroff, Nancy Tellem, and Marlo Thomas.

MTR wishes to thank the following foundations, corporations, and individuals for making She Made It possible: Loreen Arbus; Kay Koplovitz; Geraldine Laybourne; Marlo Thomas; Joan Ganz Cooney;  The Blanche and Irving Laurie Foundation; A&E Television Networks; BET; CBS Paramount Network Television Entertainment Group; Disney-ABC Television Group; Harry Winston; James & Co.; Dolly Lenz; Lifetime Entertainment Services; Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia; MTV Networks; The Rosalind P. Walter Foundation; Regina Kulik Scully; Time Warner Inc.; USA Network and SCI FI Channel; The Kaplan Thaler Group; Landor Associates; Playboy Foundation; Terri M. Santisi; Barbara Walters; Lisbeth R. Barron; Carole Black; Candace Block/The Overbrook Foundation; BMI; Francine LeFrak; Ellen & Frank Sullivan, Jr.; and Women & Co.

The Museum of Television & Radio, with locations in New York and Los Angeles, leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public. Founded by William S. Paley in 1976, MTR draws upon its curatorial expertise, an international collection, and close relationships with the leaders of the media community to explore and explain the intersections between media and society. Through the MTR Media Center and the International Council, MTR develops new initiatives and fosters partnerships around the world. The general public and industry professionals can access the collection and participate in programs at both of MTR's locations that celebrate the creativity, the innovations, the personalities, and the leaders who are shaping the media landscape. For more information, please visit


The Museum of Television & Radio in New York, located at 25 West 52 Street in Manhattan, is open Tuesdays through Sundays from noon to 6:00 p.m. and until 8:00 p.m. on Thursdays. The Museum of Television & Radio in California, located at 465 North Beverly Drive in Beverly Hills, is open Wednesdays through Sundays from noon to 5:00 p.m. Both Museums are closed on New Year's Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Suggested contribution: Members free; $10.00 for adults; $8.00 for senior citizens and students; and $5.00 for children under fourteen. Admission is free in Los Angeles. The public areas in both Museums are accessible to wheelchairs, and assisted listening devices are available. Programs are subject to change. You may call the Museum in New York at 212.621.6800, or in Los Angeles at 310.786.1000. Visit the Museum's website at


Inez Aimee

Loreen Arbus

Jacqueline Babbin

Roseanne Barr

Anne Beatts

Gail Berman

Carole Black

Linda Bloodworth-Thomason

Dr. Joyce Brothers

Dorothy Stimson Bullitt

Carol Burnett

Mary Carillo

Martha Coolidge

Joan Darling

Madelyn Pugh Davis

Raechel Donahue

Mary Ellis-Bunim

Patricia Fili-Krushel

D. C. Fontana

Arlene Francis

Anne Garrels

Lila Garrett

Anne Hummert

Lucy Jarvis

Fay Kanin

Kay Koplovitz

Joanna Lee

Shari Lewis

Nila Mack

Ann Marcus

Judith McHale

Gail Parent

Jane Pauley

Marian Rees

Robin Roberts

Aline Saarinen

Maria Elena Salinas

Barbara Schultz

Rosie Shuster

Lesley Stahl

Martha Jean "The Queen" Steinberg

Betty Thomas

Lily Tomlin

Tracey Ullman

Lesley Visser

Jane Wagner

Linda Wertheimer

Betty White

Judy Woodruff

Loretta Young